top of page
Search

McKinsey & Company | Diversity & Inclusion at McKinsey






You are unique and we need you. Learn more about why diversity is a way of life at McKinsey.



 



Unknown Speaker 0:13

I'm an Indian classical vocalist and percussionist, I am black. I'm gay. I'm from the Caribbean. I'm a white guy who mainly works in Nigeria. I know semiconductor. Everything. I was a prostate cancer researcher, I have three kids and I'm working part time.


Unknown Speaker 0:32

McKinsey should be the most rich source of talent in the world. As a result, we


Unknown Speaker 0:39

have to be the most diverse possible firm. For an individual, it's about reaching your full potential, feeling included, and able to work at your best and be your best in serving our clients. For our team, it


Unknown Speaker 0:51

means including a broad range of perspectives to come up with not a good answer, not a great answer, but a really distinctive answer that moves our client forward, I can recall a team I'm working with at the moment, where we have a couple of colleagues from Asia, we have people who grew up in very deprived parts of the former Soviet Union, we have people who went to public schools in England. And we even have people like myself who grew up in Scotland. And when you put all that together, and you think about the range of experiences that are informing the way, we're tackling a problem, I think we're unbeatable.


Unknown Speaker 1:21

I remember going to a client, this is a government client. And we were invited to come talk to them. And I have to say, We walked in the door with a woman and Indian black. It was all over the place. And I talked to the people afterwards. And they said, you know, we expected a bunch of white guys, frankly, and it was disarming to see you walk in the room, as diverse as you were. And it changed. It caused us to rethink our assumptions about you and actually to listen to you.


Unknown Speaker 1:58

Diversity and Inclusion is absolutely critical for people mission. Because we know that despite having 1000s and 1000s of applicants every year, it's hard to find the most talented people and to get the people who are really going to make a contribution to the firm and be at home here. We need the most talented people that come from all walks of life and all backgrounds. And if we don't actually deliberately reach out to those groups, and make everyone feel included, we're not going to get them


Unknown Speaker 2:22

having diverse teams, different perspectives, welcoming different perspectives. I think that's critical to the impact we have with clients. We want the best people and we want to develop the best people. We want the best people to be motivated, happy enjoying working here. And I think an inclusive environment is absolutely key for that.


Transcribed by https://otter.ai


5 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Startup Balance

"In 'The Startup Balance,' watch a tech founder and a business-minded employee learn to harmoniously blend innovation and stability with...

Comments


Thank You for Visiting Everything Neurodiversity!

Hello, Thank you for visiting Everything Neurodiversity. This site is a passion project of mine. The hosting costs are minimal and I try to dedicate time to it whenever I can. I intend to keep this site as educational and ad free. 

I have learned a great deal from working on this site and the social platforms that go along with it. So much that I have started another site dedicated to building a more sustainable and easier fashion shopping expiereince. It has recently been selected for sponsorship in the Microsoft Founders Hub Program and I'm excited for the new developments this will enable. The first 10,000 users who make a purchase through the site will get lifetime Premier Status enabling rewards up to 17%! Check it out here: RunwayRewards.Shop or browse the integrated page below: 

popular posts

music

Books

1
2

HR Resources

events

bottom of page